Tuesday 11th October 2016  

The Pleyel Ensemble

The Pleyel Ensemble
The Pleyel Ensemble
Piano Quartet in G minor, K478
Grand Duo for cello and bass
Trout Quintet
The Pleyel Ensemble brings together some of the UKs leading instrumentalists who share a passion for chamber music past and present. Formed in 2011, they take their name from the composer Ignaz Pleyel (1757-1831), a brilliant musician and businessman, who, in addition to writing a large body of accessible chamber music, helped increase the popularity of this wonderful kind of music-making amongst amateurs and professionals as both music publisher and piano manufacturer in the early nineteenth century.


As well as Schuberts ever-popular Trout Quintet and Mozarts Piano Quartet in G minor - one of the first works ever to be scored for three string instruments and piano, the Pleyels programme contains Rossinis rarely-performed Grand Duo for cello and bass. This three movement piece is not be missed! Witty and rich, it is hugely entertaining, displaying the supple virtuosity of each instrument through deft repartee in a way that only Rossini could.